Bare Bones Breakfast Granola

I have been on a major greek yogurt and oats kick lately. Sometimes I make oatmeal on the stove, other times overnight oats and have been craving homemade granola to add to the mix.

Last night I decided to whip up a batch of homemade granola so we could have it for breakfast this morning. As I sorted through my pantry I realized I didn’t have many of the usual granola ingredients… nuts, dried fruit, etc that fancy it up. Hence the name of this recipe: Bare Bones Breakfast Granola :).  I got creative with what I had and made a very simple and yummy basic granola. Perfect on top of yogurt with fresh fruit.

DSC_0537

DSC_0540

DSC_0542

DSC_0543

DSC_0545

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup coconut oil (melted – if it’s solid go ahead and microwave)
  • 1/3 cup honey or agave
  • 4 cups old fashioned oats
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

In a large bowl  mix together the oats, salt  and cinnamon. In a small bowl, mix together honey, vanilla,  and coconut oil. Add the wet mixture to the oats and stir everything together fully coating the oat mixture.

Spread the oat mixture out on a greased cookie sheet . Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes or until golden brown. stir occasionally. I find it best to keep the granola in the refrigerator if you like it to be more chewy than super crunchy.

If you want to fancy it up at all feel free to add dried fruit, nuts, etc. to the mix.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

