Quick Mediterranean Veggie & White Wine Pasta

Well hello blog friends! I’m sorry that I have been MIA lately… I got hit with the horrible flu the day after Christmas and it had me down and out for awhile. I tried to rally and still work on the laundry room with my hubby  in between naps but he took on a lot of it (love him!). I hope to have that reveal ready for you tomorrow… we are putting the finishing touches on one final piece :). In the meantime here’s a yummy pasta recipe that I thew together and wanted to share.

It was one of those weeknights where I was too stubborn to go to the grocery store so I was determined to make something from what I had. So funny that we actually ended up loving it… those are the best recipes when they force you to be creative with what you have. This came together super fast and was delicious

Ingredient List:

  • Whole wheat spaghetti noodles
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic chopped (2-3 cloves)
  • 1 can artichokes drained and roughly chopped
  • Handful of capers drained
  • 1/2 small can olives roughly chopped
  • 1/2 carton mushrooms chopped
  • White wine (hard to know I maybe used a cup or 2, but just pour some in and if you need more liquid then add more!)
  • Dried red bell peppers (totally optionally but I had this fancy version from a spice store so I threw some in)

IMG_6638

  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Kale or Spinach – roughly chopped

Here’s what I did:

Get your pasta water boiling and pasta cooking when ready. Coat the bottom of a large skillet in olive oil and sauté the garlic until light brown (be sure not to let it burn!). Add the artichokes, capers, mushrooms, and olives and let those sauté for a few minutes. Make sure you are adding salt and pepper to tasta throughout. After those are softened a bit add the white wine… like I said above just wing the amount. Add some and evaluate if it’s enough liquid to make your sauce. If it started to get too thick then add more. Add the dried red peppers if you’re using them (you could also add fresh red peppers to this dish and sauté them with the rest of the veggies).

Once your pasta is al dente and your sauce looks like the right thickness to coat the pasta add the noodles into the skillet for their final few minutes of cooking. Add in some pasta water to combine. Lastly, add your fresh greens (spinach, kale, etc) and allow them to wilt. Once it’s all come together, serve and enjoy! We sprinkled with a bit of parmesan and it was delicious!

IMG_6637

I hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

