Is There Anything Better Then Breakfast Burritos?

Breakfast burritos always hit the spot! I get pretty excited when I see those on a brunch menu, but we never seem to make them at home. Being that it was about 0 degrees all day yesterday here I texted Eric and said HOW GOOD DO BREAKFAST BURRITOS SOUND FOR DINNER?! We love breakfast for dinner and the burritos are the perfect comfort food.

We decided to make a little burrito bar and I had a can of green chile enchilada sauce on hand so it worked out great. You can add in any veggies you want as well… this is a good “use things up” dish. Here’s what we did!

Ingredient List:

  • Tortillas – we used wheat
  • Eggs – about 2 per person depending on how many burritos you want to make
  • 1 green pepper diced
  • Mushrooms diced
  • Fresh spinach diced
  • Shredded cheese – we used cheddar and mozzarella because that’s what we had 🙂
  • Italian chicken sausage – I used chicken sausage to make it a little bit healthier but LOVE regular italian sausage too
  • 1 can black beans drained and rinsed
  • Green chile sauce (we used the one below)

IMG_6444

This was pretty quick to pull together…  perfect for weeknight dinners. We cooked the sausage in a skillet and once done set that aside on a plate. Add the eggs to the same skillet and scramble those. Once the eggs are almost done add the veggies and give them a quick satay to make them tender.

IMG_6445

Once that is done set up your burrito bar and assemble! We heated up the tortillas and sauce.

IMG_6448

Top with the heated sauce and enjoy!

IMG_6451

P.S. My husband teased me for bringing the big pitcher of sauce to the table to keep adding… does anyone else LOVE green chile sauce as much as I do? If you have a good recipe or brand to try let me know!

2 responses to “Is There Anything Better Then Breakfast Burritos?

  1. yumm! the best hot sauces EVER are by SaSo. A local company and dear friend of mine. you can get it at whole foods and king soopers to name a few. also available here: http://www.sasosauces.com

  2. dennysk

    You’ve inspired me… I made this tonight! I didn’t have plain black beans so I substituted low fat refried black beans and added onion and avocado since I left the chicken sausage out to make it veggie for hubby. I used gluten free Hatch green chili which was soooo good. I don’t blame you for bringing the pitcher of chili in either… I could have put a straw in it and gone to town 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

