Home Office Makeover

Speaking of Mondays… I wanted to share my home office makeover with you! Eric and I decided that we would have separate offices at our new house… for some reason he isn’t as into pink and glitter decor as I am :). I was excited that the office is my space to really girl up and make inspirational.

When we moved in the room looked like this:

IMG_5141 IMG_5139

The space is good, it’s right at the front of the house so I get natural lighting. And the built-ins are nice for storage. Good structure overall, but needed some updates to modernize and be more my style.

I decided that Eric’s bachelor party day was the perfect time to take on this project and lucky for me Jenny & Shannon were here and jumped in with me :). We started by painting the walls with my trusty gray Behr Gentle Rain. If you’ll remember most of the house has been Behr Gentle Rain and Porpoise so far (here’s a comparison in the dining room). I love both grays but went with the lighter one in the office.

The big task was painting the bookshelves white. I didn’t sand the bookshelves (I probably should’ve) but just jumped right in with a wood primer. After that dried I painted the shelves white (I used Behr Interior Satin Enamel in Ultra Pure White). This was much more of a process than I anticipated and took several coats and touch-ups to get the old wood covered up.

I love the way the paint makes the room feel fresh and modern… it’s amazing how different the built-ins look with the white.

IMG_5302 IMG_5303

I am still working on getting my office fully decorated but am happy with how far it has come! Here’s where I am at today:

IMG_6396 IMG_6390 IMG_6398 IMG_6387 IMG_6379 IMG_6381

I LOVE the wire board I’m using for my inspiration board. I found it at TJ Maxx and used it for my wedding as well. I am debating painting the brown shelving unit underneath that or taking it out all together and looking for something else.

Must haves in my home office:

  • Inspiration board – somewhere to put pictures, quotes, cards, etc.
  • A cozy blanket – I’m always cold
  • Fresh flowers
  • Cute notebooks and fun pens and pencils
  • Storage for both work and crafting items

And of course I love having a cozy space for my two favorite coworkers :).

Image

 

3 responses to “Home Office Makeover

  1. Pingback: Gift Guide: Ladies Who Love Sparkle | gold confetti

  2. Pingback: 2014 Calendar Round Up | gold confetti

  3. Pingback: A Cozy & Stylish Family Room | gold confetti

Leave a Reply

