DIY Gold Sparkly Letter Sign

As you’ll come to see the theme of our wedding was gold sparkles and blush pink :). I can’t wait to share our wedding pictures for you all to see as soon as I get them! I of course was very Pinterest inspired during the wedding planning process. It was such a great tool to use to figure out my color palates and overall look/feel. It did inspire me to do quite a few DIY projects for the wedding and to nicely ask my husband to do some as well ;). Good thing he likes projects!

One of my very early DIY projects was to make a sparkly gold LOVE sign. The place we got married (The Sanctuary Golf Course) had an alcove above the stunning fireplace that I felt would be perfect for the letters to hang.

Here’s the step by step process of how I made the letters. I tried a few methods to ensure the sparkles weren’t shedding everywhere and finally found the right way. I’m excited to make more of these in the future for holiday signs, etc.

The supplies:

– Gold spray paint

– Mod Podge glue

– Gold glitter

– Mod Podge clear acrylic sealer

– Wooden Letters (I found mine at Michaels)

IMG_5738

Step 1: Spray paint the letter gold and let dry (please excuse my lovely cardboard work space 🙂 )

IMG_5743  IMG_5746

Step 2: Paint the letter with the glue and immediately sprinkle the glitter on top until the letter is fully covered.

IMG_5748 IMG_5749 IMG_5750

Step 3: Shake all the glitter off the letter and let dry. Next, spray the letters with 3 coats of the acrylic sealer (letting dry in between each). All done!

IMG_4903

Here was the final look of the sign. We had to nail the letters to a board to hang from for the wedding venue. I don’t have a photo yet after it was all fully set up but you get the idea :).  I’m envisioning they will lean on a shelf in our home going forward or maybe the letters will get hung on a wall. LOVE!

IMG_5538 Image

Leave a Reply

